110% CIF Means That I Will Do An Insurance Of The Insurance

The forum is dedicated to all who deals with LCs. Please share your experiences, problems and opinions with us. You are requested to be confined to LC related issues only. Let us together discover the beauty of Letter of Credit. Thank and regards – admin; besttradesolution.com
avibabo
First Name: Avrora
Last Name: Keremidcheiva
Organization: sade
Filter: Two Plus Two =: 4

110% CIF Means That I Will Do An Insurance Of The Insurance

Post by avibabo » Thu Jan 15, 2015 4:42 pm

Hello,

I am pretty new to the international trade insurance questions, so I would be really thankful for your input.

My clients requires to have 110% CIF insurance. However, after talking with my insurer he says that if we do 110% CIF it means that I will do an insurance of the insurance. If I understand correctly 110% CIF = (goods + insurance of goods + freight)*110%, which sounds a bit absurdly . So, he proposes to take an insurance of the value of CFR (goods+ freight) *110%.
To me the option that he proposes sounds more logical. What I cannot understand is what is the point of doing 110% CIF, which basically means to insure the insurance of goods?

Thanks a lot in advance!!!

picant

No

Post by picant » Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:54 am

Hi Pal,

normally insurance does not cover an extra value, but in this case you are insuring the value of the goods at destination, including a so called expected profit for 10%. The insurance company must have such expertise to deal with this situation.
Other comments appreciated
Ciao

billgoughSMICE
First Name: Bill
Last Name: Gough
Organization: SMICE\FTN Exporting

Standard Class "C" Marine Cargo Insurance

Post by billgoughSMICE » Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:50 pm