LC Expired, But Bank Still Asks For Consent?

The forum is dedicated to all who deals with LCs. Please share your experiences, problems and opinions with us. You are requested to be confined to LC related issues only. Let us together discover the beauty of Letter of Credit. Thank and regards – admin; besttradesolution.com
Wafra
First Name: Wafra
Last Name: Nasser
Organization: None
Filter: Two Plus Two =: 4

LC Expired, But Bank Still Asks For Consent?

Post by Wafra » Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:51 am

Hello all,
I'm new to this and would appreciate your help.

I am a client of a bank, which has issued an LC.
The beneficiary did not take any action whatsoever, time passed and the LC expired 2 weeks ago.
I was glad, until my issuing bank asked for my consent and also the beneficiary's to completely cancel the LC and get my money.
We both have provided our consent Emails/signed paper.
My issuing bank now wants the beneficiary's bank consent also, is it really required?
And they said that the beneficiary's bank should notify us, how will they do it, by Email?
One employee casually said that even if the LC has expired, there is a 45 days "timeout" afterwards?!

Is this all right?

gondem
First Name: Trade
Last Name: Finance
Organization: self-employed

Post by gondem » Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:48 pm

Hi Wafra,

If the beneficiary's bank is the confirming bank, then the issuing bank is right to ask the consent of it. According to UCP article 10, a credit can neither be amended nor cancelled without the agreement of the issuing bank, the conforming bank and the beneficiary.
These are the principal parties of the LC procedure and their consents are required for any amendment or cancellation.
Regarding 45 days timeout after expiry date, first time i hear such a thing. There is no any indication within the ICC rules.

Wafra

Post by Wafra » Thu Dec 15, 2016 9:17 pm

Hello gondem

How long does it usually take for the confirming bank to cancel the LC once it was requested to?