Why Drafts Being Used in 'At Sight' LCs?

The forum is dedicated to all who deals with LCs. Please share your experiences, problems and opinions with us. You are requested to be confined to LC related issues only. Let us together discover the beauty of Letter of Credit. Thank and regards – admin; besttradesolution.com
Seoulio
First Name: Thomas
Last Name: L
Organization: Private Company
Filter: Two Plus Two =: 4

Why Drafts Being Used in 'At Sight' LCs?

Post by Seoulio » Sat Nov 28, 2020 1:53 pm

I have been doing some reading and realizing that drafts are not a common or required LC document in most cases. However, in my time working in a company using L/Cs to export to Korea, our documentation to the bank always included a draft, even when the LC was 'at sight' as opposed to usance or 'X DAYS FROM BL DATE'.

Why were we creating drafts for every docs. set? I was a lowly documentation officer at the time, so I was not privy to the discussions with our advising banks. Was this something our banks were requiring from us as an antiquated tradition which really were not required?

picant

Re: Why Drafts Being Used in 'At Sight' LCs?

Post by picant » Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:39 am

Hi Pal,

in many Countries drafts or bills of exchange bear a stamp duty that is very high, considering the days to maturity. In Italy draft pays 1,2%, if maturing in one month the cost is 14,40% per annum.
Stamp duty gives the possibility to protest the draft and the possibility to recourse to the endorser etc.
but in case of documentary credit is only a way to request the amount promised and to document the
drawing.
I think that the cover letter could absolve it.
Other comments appreciated.
Ciao

TaiOanlan
First Name: Luke
Last Name: Yo
Organization: FI

Post by TaiOanlan » Sun Dec 20, 2020 7:41 am

@Seoulio
From practice point of view, I do agree with terminating requirement of Draft once and for all.